During the Junior Awards Ceremonies Club President, Nick Chilton, and Club Chairman, Geoff Ledger, reflected on Haslemere Hockey’s 60th season which has seen the largest ever expansion in our junior club and necessitated separate junior and mini prizegiving occasions.

With our increasing group of qualified coaches and volunteer squad managers we have run six league teams, four cup teams and six mini festival teams between the ages of 6-18 for boys and girls. The placement of three more players (Sanjay Appan, Harry Tenwick and Jake Gidley) in Hampshire teams is a tribute to the quality of our coaching team. We also await the result of Jake Gidley’s assessment for a place in the regional South team.

Club awards were presented by Club Chairman, Geoff Ledger, to a range of junior players with the Under 14 Boys retaining the Chilton Shield for the most successful HHC junior team. Rufus Roy and Emily Lane, highest junior male and female goal scorers, were competing at the top of the goalscorers league with the adult players to be awarded the Netbuster and Barrow Hills Cups respectively. The two members singled out as junior players of the 2006-07 season for their significant contributions on the pitch and their attitude towards the sport were Sally Wilson; presented with the Moodies Cup; and Elliott Hall receiving the Lloyds Bank Plate.

Recipients of the squad awards were:-
Under 18 Squad – Campbell Hancock, Tom Marriner
Under 16 Squads – Nico Worall, Charlie Head, Alex Smyth, Vanessa Talbutt,
Under 14 Squads – Tristan Conoley, Oliver Coleshill, Connie Blake, Celia Hall
Under 12 Squad – Chris Thomas, James Burnet
Under 10 Squads – Will Putnam, Charlie Dimond, Sasha Burnet, Eleanor Hillcox
Under 8 Squads – Ben Greene, Jake Hawkins, Emily Thorpe, Emily Soper
Under 6 Squad – Harry Stokes, Lorenzo di Santo
Members of our thriving mini section also received certificates from Nick Chilton.

Prospects for next season have never looked healthier and after a well earned rest, particularly for our dedicated coaches and squad managers, we look forward to welcoming back all our junior members in September.

(Award Ceremony photos available for viewing shortly.)